“Print Balls “

by timpughartist

image

“Print Balls ” is a gallery installation created at Florence Mine Arts Centre,Egremont during a two person exhibition with Cumbrian Artist Di Mcghee in August 2015.I retrieved a couple of handfuls of iron ore laden soily clay from the ground near a defunct iron ore mine in Woodend in West Cumbria and rolled them into a heavy ball.As I had a big gallery wall to myself I decided to create a huge grid /symmetrical design on the white surface by pressing the mudball onto the surface.The ball left a succession of beautiful patterns with flowing red iron ore patterns and in two hours,covered the wall with rows of the imprinted designs. I likened the effect to ceramic wallpaper and appreciated the opportunity to experiment on such a big scale with just one mudball.

