“South Beach Map “

by timpughartist

The temporary map /installation was created at South Beach in May 2017.The artwork is a drawing of a map of the area next to North Beach in Whitehaven where I have been collecting washed up Victorian pieces of domestic ceramic and glass on the tideline . The fragments were used to create an installation in a gallery in North Wales a month later and the map drawing on the beach was an experimental trial run to see the materials were successful and if they complimented each other. I sketched the detail from the map onto a sandstone boulder and incorporated the ceramic finds on the surface. Rainwater has since obliterated the lines leaving no trace of the drawing. I like to work on this beach and try out ideas despite the beach being inaccessible and closed to the general public. I have to squeeze through a fence and clamber down rough ground in order to get access and be mindfull of high tides that could cut me off.

